The Grammy for Fashion Goes To…

13 Feb

I promised myself I wouldn’t do this, but I just can’t help it. I wasn’t going to rate other people’s wardrobe choices, but there were some pretty amazing dresses on the red carpet this year, and I just HAVE to talk about some of them. I’m going to keep it positive and only talk about the ones I love.

First, the only thing better than Adele’s outfit was her voice. So glad her surgery was a success. She nailed her performance and her outfit. The floor-grazing black dress by Giorgio Armani had just the right amount of sparkle and she accented with nothing more than the best red lips and old Hollywood hair I’ve ever seen. She was sophisticated, glamorous and pitch-perfect.

On the other end of the spectrum was the daring, plunging, cleavage and back-baring dress Rihanna walked out in. A collaboration between her and Giorgio Armani (how many can say that?), it struck the perfect balance between fierce and sexy. She’s said she wanted to be sexy and gangsta at the same time. Looks like she pulled that off flawlessly!

Most dapper couple award goes to Alicia Keys and Swizz Beatz. Her simply stunning Alexandre Vauthier dress, Christian Louboutin heels and gold collar were classic, edgy and ladylike all at the same time. Not an easy feat. Swizz Beatz somehow managed to pull off what appeared to be a plum velvet suit jacket and a bow tie; he made it look smooth and fresh. Together they set each other’s outfits off fabulously.

While I wish Taylor Swift would give the gold dresses a rest, there is no denying the girl knows how to work it. By Zuhair Murad, the nude column dress with sweep train is undeniably elegant. There is something to be said for finding something that works and sticking with it.

Slightly more controversial is Fergie’s Jean Paul Gaultier Haute Couture orange lace dress. The delicate lace contrasted beautifully with the orange color, a shade that looks simply smashing on Fergie. I would have preferred it with a nude or black slip rather than the granny panties and black bra, but she still looked amazing. Kudos for the gutsy choice.

At first I thought Carrie Underwood’s Gomez-Gracia gown was a little safe, but then she turned around and I realized it wasn’t quite as tame as it appeared. With glittery sequins and a plunging back, it was glamour at its best and brightest.

And finally, there was Corrine Baily Rae in a lovely black ruffled Christian Siriano dress. Its short knee-length silhouette was a nice change from the floor-grazing frocks of most everyone else. She looked young, fresh and radiant.

See below for a slideshow of my selections and a few other honorable mentions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While there were some other great looks on the red carpets, these get my vote for best of the night. Disagree? Think I left anyone out? Want to dish on some of the performances? Please comment below or email me at princessheathab@gmail.com

Future blog topics include:

  • How to Dress Appropriately for Any Occasion
  • The Five Shoe Staples Every Girl Should Own
  • How to Get Down in Black and Brown
  • Colored Jeans, A Rainbow of Possibilities
  • Trends To Buy Right Now
  • Seven Ways to Save While Shopping

Be Fierce. Be Fashionable. Be Yourself.

XOXO

H

2 Responses to “The Grammy for Fashion Goes To…”

  1. Kaycee February 13, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I loved Katy Perry’s Elie Saab gown.

    • heathabe February 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      I went back and forth on it. I really loved it from the back. I just thought it did something weird in the front…in the boob region or something. She’s always very original and beautiful though. Russel Brand is an idiot.

Leave a Reply

